The IEEE 802.11 Networking Standards Explained

IEEE 802.11 Networking,802.Eleven (occasionally known as 802.11x, but no longer 802.11X) is the generic name of a family of requirements for wireless networking related to Wi-Fi.

The numbering scheme for 802.11 comes from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), who makes use of “802” because the name of a committee for networking standards that includes Ethernet (IEEE 802.Three). “11” refers back to the wi-fi nearby place networks (WLANs) running organization internal their 802 committee.

IEEE 802.Eleven requirements outline precise regulations for WLAN verbal exchange. The first-class recognized of these standards encompass 802.11g, 802.11n and 802.11ac.

IEEE 802.11 Networking,The First 802.11 Standard

802.Eleven (with out a letter suffix) became the authentic wellknown on this circle of relatives, ratified in 1997. 802.11 installed wi-fi neighborhood community communication as a mainstream opportunity to Ethernet. Being first technology generation, 802.Eleven had severe obstacles that prevented it from performing in business products – records quotes, for example, 1-2 Mbps. 802.Eleven turned into speedy advanced on and made out of date inside two years by both 802.11a and 802.11b.

Evolution of 802.Eleven

Each new preferred inside the 802.Eleven family (frequently known as “amendments”) gets a name with new letters appended.. After 802.11a and 802.11b, new standards were created, successive generations of the primary Wi-Fi protocols rolled out on this order:

  • 802.11g (ratified in 2003)
  • 802.11n (ratified in 2009)
  • 802.11ac (ratified in 2013)

In parallel with those predominant updates, the IEEE 802.11 running institution advanced many different associated protocols and different modifications. The IEEE generally assigns names within the order running organizations are kicked off instead of when the standard is completed. For instance:

  • 802.11c – operation of bridge connections (moved to 802.1D)
  • 802.11d – global compliance with rules to be used of wi-fi signal spectrum (2001)
  • 802.11e – Quality of Service (QoS) assist (2005-2007)
  • 802.11F – Inter-Access Point Protocol advice for verbal exchange among access factors to guide roaming clients (2003)
  • 802.11h – more suitable version of 802.11a to assist European regulatory necessities (2003)
  • 802.11i – security enhancements for the 802.Eleven own family (2004)
  • 802.11j – upgrades to 5 GHz signaling to support Japan regulatory requirements (2004)
  • 802.11k – WLAN gadget management
  • 802.11l – skipped to avoid confusion with 802.11i
  • 802.11m – maintenance of 802.11 own family documentation
  • 802.11o – skipped
  • 802.11p – Wireless Access for the Vehicular Environment
  • 802.11q – skipped
  • 802.11r – rapid roaming support through Basic Service Set transitions
  • 802.11s – ESS mesh networking for get admission to points
  • 802.11T – Wireless Performance Prediction – recommendation for trying out standards and metrics
  • 802.11u – internetworking with 3G / mobile and other styles of external networks
  • 802.11v – wi-fi community management / device configuration
  • 802.11w – Protected Management Frames protection enhancement
  • 802.11x – skipped (standard name for the 802.11 circle of relatives)
  • 802.11y – Contention Based Protocol for interference avoidance

The Official IEEE 802.11 Working Group Project Timelines page is published by IEEE to indicate the status of each wireless standard currently under development.